In Alumni in Action, Alumni Resources, Featured, News & Announcements, Resources

PsySR Community Conversation: In Science We (Should Not Blindly) Trust

PART 2: Contemporary Psychologies and Colonizing Knowledge

 

Please Join Us

Date: Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Time: 1 PM HST// 4:00 PM PDT// 6 PM CDT // 7:00 PM EDT/

In Central Europe: (July 2) 1:00AM CEST

 

Presenter: Oksana Yakushko, PhD

 

Register in advance for this webinar:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_6UTR_EmvS1CFvc7etMzm4A 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

 

This talk will be recorded

 

In this continuation of a presentation and discussion on colonization and decolonization of scientific praxis and knowledge, focus will be given to contemporary histories and occurrences of promoting scientism, oppressive ideologies (e.g., racist sciences, sexist sciences, homophobia) or (potentially) colonizing scientific ideas (e.g., psychology as a “culture free” or neutral STEM discipline; “positive” psychology, “primitive reptilian brain” neuromyths, patriarchy or racism as universal and normative). In addition to examining scholarship by contemporary Western psychologists, this presentation will highlight direct and indirect engagement by psychologists in promotions of White supremacy and misogyny (e.g., sciences in My Awakening by David Duke and the American Renaissance (“race realism”); Men’s Rights Activists/Involuntary Celibates). Our dialogue on colonization and decolonization of psychology sciences will be framed within critical theoretical contributions by Frantz Fanon, Simone de Beauvoir, Sara Ahmed and other critical social scholars.

 

Presenter Bio:

Oksana Yakushko, PhD is a practicing psychologist and faculty member at Pacifica Graduate Institute (Carpinteria, CA). Her work has focused on xenophobia, human trafficking, immigration, and gender. Recently she has been presenting and publishing on sanitized versions of history, especially in relation of centrality of eugenics in European and U.S. psychology. Her most recent books include “Modern-Day Xenophobia” (Palgrave, 2018) and “Scientific Pollyannaism” (Palgrave, 2019).

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search